Categories: Bookkeeping

Awards (modern awards) are legal documents that outline the minimum pay rates and conditions of employment such as leave entitlements, overtime, and shift work, amongst other workplace-related conditions.

With the National Employment Standards, these awards provide a minimum safety net of terms and conditions of employment for all national system employees across Australia.

More than 100 industry or occupation awards cover most people who work in Australia. Find out which award covers you below.

Find my award?

Find out which award applies to you.

Find my award

If you can’t find your occupation or industry using the above, you can also view the List of awards page.

Who do awards cover?

Awards apply to employers and employees depending on their industry and the type of job worked. Every award has information about who it covers. To work out which award applies, read:

  • the coverage clause (usually clause 4)
  • the job classifications (usually in the pay clause or a schedule).

Awards don’t apply when an employer has a registered agreement in place.

Can more than one award cover an employer?

An employer can be covered by more than one award depending on the employees’ jobs.

Example: 2 awards applying to 1 employer

Joe runs a building and construction business. He has qualified carpenters as well as the office staff who do administration work. 2 awards will apply to his business:

  • Building and Construction Award – for his qualified carpenters
  • Clerks Award – for his office staff.

If multiple awards apply to an employer, you can reuse this tool to find each separate award.


Source: © Fair Work Ombudsman